John Harrison, St John’s Churchyard, Hampstead

Click for larger photos
© 1992 A. Slack

Longitude

Having photographed Kay Kendall’s headstone in St John’s Hampstead, I was wandering through the chuchyard when I came across this fascinating inscription on the side of a sarcophagus. I had never heard of John Harrison but I found the inscription so interesting that I took a photograph anyway.

Four years later, in 1996, I was watching the Christmas episode of “Only Fools and Horses”, when Del-boy finally becomes a millionaire having discovered an old watch in his garage which turns out to have been made by none other than… John Harrison!

A couple of years later the book “Longitude” was published and later made into a television drama.

One response to “John Harrison, St John’s Churchyard, Hampstead

  1. I wonder , were to find boyfriend to my sister? Joke:)
    My online friends propose this link to use –TOP10 – As for me, I think life is now!!!

Leave a Reply

